top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilia's Crochet

Things I've Learnt a Year Into Etsy || a Beginner's Guide to Starting a Business

Go for it!

Starting your own business isn’t as easy as it may initially seem. There is a lot of work that goes into it that you may not even think about. I’m coming up on a year of my business in November, and there are still things that I’m learning. Something that I’m always trying to remember is to not be afraid. There might be a million things that can go wrong but there will always be a billion things that will go right to contradict it. Don’t. Be. Afraid.



Research is very important!

Always do your research. Doing research is essential to almost anything. Whether it’s starting a new hobby, writing an article, trying to prove your point in a debate, or simply looking for the perfect place to eat. The list goes on. Some things to look into would be searching into the platform that you plan on selling from. YouTube videos and the Etsy Help Center helped me a lot (and still do). I started off selling in person at my school and moved onward from there.


Before you start selling, make sure you’re ready. When I started Etsy, I was recommended to have at least 10 listings ready. I was in a rush to start and I regret it (I’ll get into that later). I believe I started with just about five or six listings. If you don't have the recommended amount--it's fine. You do what's best for you. Make sure that you have all your materials already with you. This includes all your items for shipping, having a debit/credit card ready, and of course, having the item(s) you plan on selling. I recommend having a logo, business email, and business cards ready before you start.


Research is essential to shipping too. I’ve just recently started shipping through Etsy and I wonder how I made it without. It has saved me so much money, and I’ve only used it for a handful of days. Not only does it save you money--but your customers as well.



Learn from my mistakes...

All my regrets come and bite me every once in a while. Make sure that you are ready--which I wasn’t. Yes, I had all my listings ready, but I was lacking something that haunts me to this day--my brand. I decided to go with Emilia’s Crochet. While that name is pretty basic, if I had put more time and effort into it, I could have come up with something more unique. If you have a name that's not very original (like mine)--it’s okay! I’ve learned to accept it and I embrace it! While my name may not be unique, I have other qualities that help me stand out from the rest.


While we’re on the topic about names. Don’t be alarmed if you have to change your shop name on Etsy (or whichever platform you choose). There are tons of shops out there and someone may have already chosen the one you had planned. I went from Emilia’s Crochet to EmiliasCrochetStudio. I was disappointed at first, but it’s okay! I promise.



Wrapping up...

Have low expectations when you first start. This is something you’ve probably dreaded hearing for the longest time...but it’s true. Tons of variations bleed into getting a sale: the tags you use, the item itself, keywords, the cost… Don’t be discouraged. This is simply a sign to keep going. The big, fancy, business started off small once upon a time ago too. Be that next big business!


The last thing I want to cover is promotion. It may feel selfish at first, but I can assure you that it’s not. Get yourself out there. It wouldn’t hurt to make yourself a Facebook page, an official Instagram page for your business, or even a blog.


I hope I helped you, in one way or another, and I wish you the best of luck with your business! You got this!


(the cover photo belongs to the rightful owner--I do not own it)

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page