top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilia's Crochet

2022 Crochet Goals Review

Wow, what a year it has been! A lot has happened. Not only did I graduate high school, I also began my journey through college. Going in, I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to crochet as much as I had initially anticipated, but I didn’t realize the full extent of it until I actually started my classes. My crochet and craft time decreased rapidly. I had tried to find wiggle room to work on little projects in between classes or before/after bed but eventually, I fell into the school cycle: wake up, eat, go to school, do homework, eat, shower, sleep, repeat. Nevertheless, I was able to squeeze in some craft time here and there and I can’t wait to share with you my 2022 goals! Was I able to complete them?


Before I begin, if you would like to read the full blog post where I shared my 2022 goals with explanations as to why I choose them, click here.


My 3 Crochet Goals


  • 12 hats for Hat Not Hate (at least one each month)

  • Donate to Bundle of Hope with the “leftover” hats that fit the requirements

  • Make a couple of 7x9 rectangles for Warm Up America


Out of my three goals, I was only able to accomplish the first goal: creating 12 hats for Hat Not Hate. This was one of my easiest goals to achieve! I went on a road trip this summer, if I’m not mistaken it was about a 4-5ish hour drive there. I have very bad interstate anxiety, so to help clear my mind I was frantically crocheting hats the entire time. It may sound crazy, but it worked! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… CROCHET IS A GREAT COPING MECHANISM! I think I was able to crochet about 8 or 10 hats on this trip? I honestly don’t remember. But… we did have to stop at a Walmart in another state so I could stop for more yarn. Who would’ve thought I’d under-pack yarn? Not me!

I can go on a whole Hat Not Hate rant about how they are one of my favorite organizations to donate to, but I’ll save that for another day ;). Although I was only able to donate 11 hats this year, my donation pile for next year is rapidly growing 😀



My 5 Blanket Goals



I was able to finish two of my blanket goals this year! Don’t quote me, but I believe I left off on my 2020 temperature blanket in July. I am not working through August’s temperatures! For those who are unaware of what my temperature blanket is, I can briefly explain it for you. I began by assigning a color to a temperature. Every day I would crochet a row with the appropriate color. After 7 days, I would begin a new square. In other words, 7-row squares to leave a square a week, so I’ll have 52 squares! Here is a link to my Instagram post from 2021 displaying my blanket: https://www.instagram.com/p/CSICzqYrv_x/


My 2017 Calendar Blanket was something that I just had to do. It wasn’t a lot of work but once I finally got over that hump I was reminded of why I started that blanket in the first place. It was fun! I had a lot of fun making that blanket and I’m proud to say that I finally finished it!! I do have to say though, that the weather did have some say in this. I wouldn’t have pulled it out if it wasn’t for the blizzard that was happening outside. Let’s just say, at some parts the real feel was -35! Anyways, the blanket is FINALLY FINISHED and I am extremely excited to finally say that!! I started this blanket back in 2019, and I was consistent with it till the September square. From there I had to crochet September through December, and attach the border. In this reel I made you can see how excited I was, this was filmed right after I finished the border! https://www.instagram.com/p/CmiZOWMokJV/


Although I didn’t finish my FRIENDS blanket, I do have to say I’m proud of myself for how much I had gotten done with it! I’m working on my 5th ball I believe. It’s almost as tall as I am (about 5 foot 9!) After I am able to get the length to about 6 feet (or around my height if I change my mind), I’m going to work width-wise and start working horizontally on the blanket to add some width to it on both sides.


Aside from a couple of other personal goals that I had created, those were all of the crochet-related goals that I completed in 2022! While writing my 2023 goals, I will definitely be trying to keep my goals more on the realistic side of things, I want to be able to write a more productive outcome next year! Thank you for watching me on my journey this year, cheers to the next!


Emilia

Emilia's Crochet Studio


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Charity Links!


Bundle of Hope:


Helpful Hookers Unite:


Hat Not Hate:


Warm Up America:



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page