top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilia's Crochet

5 Tips to Help Gain Your Crochet Motivation Back

If you’re like me--you’ve probably experienced times where you lose your motivation to crochet (“crojo”). It’s a common thing that happens to every crocheter, at least once. Lately, this has been affecting me more than it probably should. I’ve always wondered what I can do to help make this process go by a little faster. Today I’m here to share with you some ways to help gain your “crojo” back, based on my personal experiences.


#1--Accepting & Acknowledgement

I’ve always had trouble accepting that I have lost my “crojo”. I’ve always wondered why too. “How can I have no motivation to do something I’m so passionate about?” is a question I tend to ask myself.

It’s important to be accepting of this. This is most likely happening for a reason. Have you been overworking yourself? Do you need a break but can never find time for yourself? Take this as a sign.


#2--Organize

If I’m not doing something productive, I feel like I’m wasting time. When I’m in a state of no motivation, I like to do something related to the topic. I like to organize my yarn stash, my hooks, patterns… This helps me feel like I’m still being productive even though I’m not doing the act of crochet itself.


#3--Be Patient

Something I’m not too good at is being patient. This is almost as important as accepting and acknowledging. Motivation comes and goes--it’s apart of life. It helps to remember that you’re going to be back in the groove as soon as you’re ready.


#4--Size Down

No! Don’t freak out just yet! I’m not referring to sizing down your yarn stash...I would never do that. I’m referring to the size of your projects. When you get your motivation back, it may be your first instinct to jump right in to a bigger project. This is a good way to lose your “crojo” again. Start small. Look up patterns for a scarf, dishcloth, hat, or something similar. If you’re looking for a beginner-friendly scarf pattern, you can use my free Wild-WilD Fall Scarf/Cowl pattern free on my blog.


#5--Try Something New

Trying something new is always fun, especially in a hobby like crochet. There are tons of stitches I’m sure you’ve never heard of waiting patiently for you to try them. There are thousands of crochet patterns for you to make. Start small and work your way up.

Don't be afraid to remake a pattern you've already made before. It might help you get back in the groove by doing something you have already done before.


These are my five tips to help get your crochet motivation back. I hope these can help you, like they help me!


(the header isn't my picture, all rights to the respectful owner)

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page