top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilia's Crochet

I Made Bumblebees!

Updated: Feb 4, 2023



Over this summer I did something that I normally don’t do–I made three small amigurumi bumblebees! These were custom orders from a family member. She had a couple of requirements to go by, the rest were up to me. She wanted three bumblebees that were about the size of golf balls, were able to sit flat on a desk and were in the colors yellow, pink, and purple. This project allowed me to use creative thinking to figure out how exactly I was going to meet these requirements. My mom and I had brainstormed and we came up with the idea of putting a small little magnet disk at the bottom of the bee. That was a great idea, as the bees were able to sit flat!


I found a free pattern on Ravelry for the bumblebees: “Bumblebee” by Amy Woodhouse. This pattern was just what I was looking for! I ended up following the pattern exactly, except for the keychain and that I used worsted cotton rather than a sport. I only needed the bee so I didn’t need to add the metal keychain. Amy did a great job at the organization with the PDF. I am able to read and find everything that I need very well. I like her use of pictures throughout the pattern. While I am crocheting patterns, I like to follow pictures as a reference to make sure that I am doing them right.


I think that this pattern would be great for advanced beginners. I only say this because of the small hook and yarn. I even had trouble at times with the small hook and yarn, this could have been from a handful of factors (I didn’t use the correct yarn size so my yarn was a tad bigger than intended or because I simply wasn’t used to crocheting so small). Everything with this pattern is very straightforward and I was left with no questions. Even though I adapted the bee with the flat base, I didn’t need to change the pattern at all. All I did was slip the weight in before I close it off (and stuffed it, of course).


If you end up creating this pattern please let me know! I would love to see it! You can tag me with @emilias.crochet on IG and please tag Amy Woodhouse too so she can see your work! Amy’s Instagram is @bamboomint! Thank you for reading and have a great day!


Emilia

Emilia’s Crochet Studio

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Bumblebee” by Amy Woodhouse

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page