top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilia's Crochet

How to Crochet Little Bookmarks & A Pattern Review

Hello everybody! Happy Friday! I hope that you all are doing well! Lately, I haven’t been very motivated to crochet, but when I have been, I’ve found myself crocheting little bookmarks! I came up with this idea about a year or two ago. What makes these special is that they work very fast and they are multi-use. These are great for a class gift or even a donation to your local library! The pattern for these is quite simple, let me show you. Before I begin, I do want to say and clarify that none of these are my patterns and that I take no credit. I was simply modifying a free pattern :)

1) To start, I began with a simple heart or circle. You can do this with any shape, size, or color. I tend used scrap Red Heart pooling or variegated yarn with a 4.5mm crochet hook. Again, you can use whatever works best for you. The heart applique pattern that I used was “Heart Applique With Bonus Chart Reading Tutorial” by Deaja Joy. This pattern worked up very fast and was quite easy to read. I have used this pattern for other projects, as well. If I’m making a circle base, I will use a magic circle and crochet about 10 or 12 double crochets into the center, cinch it off, and then slip stitch to the top of my first double crochet.



2) After I have the base for the bookmark, the next step that I need to do is to have my yarn reach the end of my work. If I am making a circle–I am already there. Although, if I am making a heart, I have to get to the tip of the heart from the dip. To do this, I surface crochet down the middle of the heart till I get to the bottom. From here, I continue on with the next step.

Here is a video tutorial provided by Tamara Kelly from Moogly, which shows how to do surface crochet. This isn’t a common stitch in crochet so I thought I would show you just in case :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJ8FI5PJfvk

3) After you have your yarn at the tip of the applique, you next want to chain until your desired length. I don’t know the exact amount of chains. It’s helpful to have a book next to you and a chain an inch or two longer than the book.


That’s about it! You don’t need a lot to make this bookmark! If you make one, let me know! I would love to see it! Feel free to tag me (@emilias.crochet on IG as well as the creator of the applique pattern) so that I can share and support your work! I would love to see how it turns out! As I had previously mentioned before, one of my favorite things about small applique patterns like this is how you can add so much to it by changing a small feature of the pattern (such as adding a chain). They work up fast, in my opinion, which s perfect when you need to make them in bulk. I hope that this pattern was helpful for you!

Thank you for reading, and I hope you have a great day!
Emilia’s Crochet Studio
Emilia <3




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page